The Interdominion series controversially lost one of its stars when Christen Me was a race day scratching, but the other favourites Lennytheshark and Beautide made their marks on the track.

Interdominion favourite Lennytheshark was the first horse into the final when he led all the way in the heat at Melton. 

Beautide was just outside the Menangle 2400m track record and driver James Rattray believes there was plenty left for the reigning Interdominion champion. He cut out slick sectionals before being challenged by For A Reason and responding to go away to win impressively.

"He just felt great from  when he started warming up," Rattray said. "We rolled along and when [For A Reason] came up on our outside on the turn, he gave a good sprint."

Beautide's job was made a bit easier when Suave Stuey Lombo, the second pick in betting, galloped as the mobile pulled away. 

The drama was the late scratching of Christen Me, which meant an emergency didn't get a start. Harness Racing NSW chief stewards Graham Loch opened an inquiry into the reason for the scratching.

While the first couple of heats went to script, the favourites were rolled in Brisbane and the supplementary heat at Menangle. Avonnova was run down by former Australian horse of the year Majestic Mach. Avonnova received one of two wildcards by the NSW selection.

Newcastle pacer Ultimate Art took advantage of a soft run behind the leader and then outgunned Easy On The Eye with triple New Zealand Cup Terror To Love running third to secure a spot in the final.

Trainer-driver Michael Formosa said his first thought had been to make the final but Ultimate Art had different thoughts in the straight.

"I actually could have come out when Terror To Love come around us in the back straight but I waited and he really come hard in the straight," Formosa said. "He is great and it is hard to know how well he is going at home because he is lazy but he showed he back to his best."

Blazin N Cullen charged home in the supplementary and was awarded a wildcard.

Interdominion qualifiers: Lennytheshark, Flaming Flutter, Im Corzin Terror, Beautide, For A Reason, Monifieth, Teo Enteo, Majestic Mach, Ultimate Art, Easy On The Eye, Terror To Love, David Hercules. Wildcard: Avonnova, Blazin N Cullen.